31 Day Nail Challenge – Day 28

INSPIRED BY A FLAG… I could have done any flag. Any flag would have been fine;  but what kind of New Zealander would I be if I didn’t do my own flag?

I’m proud to be a New Zealander. I feel so privileged to live in a country where, compared to others, crime is low and the living standard is high.  I love that I grew up near the ocean, and that since NZ is still a relatively young country,  we all are an integral part of its making and its future history. I appreciate the fact that I’ve lived in both city and country and experienced both styles of living,  and that I can proudly say “once a Westie, always a Westie” – even though I don’t remember living in West Auckland. I love Pineapple Lumps, L&P, sandy fish and chips on the beach, and Marmite.

When I was little I used to get confused between the New Zealand and Australian flags – both have the Union Jack in the corner and both have stars. I don’t even know what it was that triggered my recognition – I think the fact that our stars are red fixed it for me.

For this design I started with  2 coats of Jordana Blue Flash over my base coat. This is a colour I’ve only used once before – it really is a stunning shade of blue, with teeny silver glitter and some bar glitter too.

Then  on my thumb using my very thick, mostly past it LA Colors Art deco striper in White, I made two wide stripes vertically and horizontally,  and then four little smaller lines. I went inside the lines with Cairuo 03, using a toothpick cause I’m yet to get fine brushes or a red striper.

With that done I got on to the tricky part. The stars. I can’t do stars at the best of times. Yikes. Using Jordana White on a toothpick again I created the outlinen of a single star on each nail, and filled it in. Then I got my red again (Cairuo 03) and filled in the middle of the stars, leaving some white space visible.

Only problem with this design is awkward hand positioning for photos -_-

image

image

image

image

And with that,  God Defend our Free Land.

2 thoughts on “31 Day Nail Challenge – Day 28

Leave a Reply

