31 Day Nail Challenge – Day 25

Today’s theme got me stuck for a moment or three. I’m not the most aware of fashion trends, and my own wardrobe leaves a lot to be desired at this point in time. So what does one do when they need to present nails INSPIRED BY FASHION? They jump on Google Images.

I bought a new Cairuo polish the other day (actually, 3 new ones) in the most grape-purple (#13) I’ve ever owned, so I really wanted to use it… I searched Purple Fashion, and came up with this gorgeous dress: image

Here is my tale of the frustration that comes with using tape to create a design. I knew I wanted to use Jordana Lavender Fields as the purple contrast to the Cairuo polish, and I knew I wanted to try using tape to create the pattern. After painstakingly cutting my tape (actually, my friend Ashlee did that) to size, and laying the tape in the right pattern on each dry nail, I painted a coat of Lavender Fields over and then pulled the tape straight away, since that’s how I read you get clean lines.

It only worked on one finger. Just one. I don’t know why. With all the other nails the polish pulled, and I very nearly threw a temper tantrum, until I realised I had 2 purple stripers I could use on the other nails. So, using 4 purple shades all up, here is today’s design:

image

image

image

image

The stripers were Purple Impression on the pointer finger and Artsy Purple on the others, both from Jordana Pop Art.

I’m definitely going to try the tape idea again, maybe once the challenge has finished.

Leave a Reply

