Peacock Feathers – tutorial

Hello again. Today I have a tutorial for you on how to achieve a look like this:

565295_10151388411971181_1551548860_n

These are my peacock feather nails, inspired by a picture from Pintrest (peacock feathers). The peacock design reminded me of summer days at a local regional park where my family used to spend a lot of time when I was a teenager. There were these two peacocks who had free range if the park, and it was always a great delight to catch sight of one of them fanning out his tail. It was a fairly simple design, but it took me about 45minutes to complete. Starting off with a basecoat, paint your ring fingers white ( I’ve used Jordana White).

image

I left all the other nails bare until after I’d finished this finger, because I wasn’t entirely sure what I wanted to do on the others! With a black striper polish (mine is Kleancolor nail to toe in Black) make a slightly curved line across the nail. Wherever the thinnest part of the stripe is is where you’ll make the peacock dots. Then from either side of the big line draw in some smaller lines.

image

The next step you can choose to do with a dotting tool or cotton bud, but I did mine just with the very tip of my polish brushes. The colours I used are in brackets. Taking a gold polish (Jordana Super Star) make a dot near the tip of the feather, then do the same with a green ( L.A. Colors Lime) a turquoise (Jordana Boy oh Boy) and a dark blue (Kleancolor Shining Sea).

image

image

image

image

Once this was done I decided more spots were needed, so I painters the rest of my nails in two coats of Boy oh Boy.

image

Then repeating the steps I used for the peacock feather, I made dots on my other nails.

image

image

image

The last thing I did was get out my black striper again and make slightly curvy, interconnecting lines around the peacock spots, and finished off with a coat or two of Quick Dry to smooth out the bumps. I would love to see if you try this out!

Leave a Reply

