Holo Review and Mini Haul.

Hello my friends! Yesterday I had a little mini-splurge on polishes. Husband was not totally impressed… but never mind! One thing I was really excited to find was a Matte Top Coat. I’ve seen Matte top coats on other blogs I’ve been reading, and after looking for them in stores here in NZ with no luck, I had resigned myself to having to buy online, which I don’t really want to do that much … I have enough trouble controlling my spending with cash in my hand! Anyway, wandering around yesterday I popped into Farmers. There are no words to describe the pitch at which I squealed when I walked past the ChiChi stand. It. Was. There. I didn’t care how much it was, I was going to get it. It was actually pretty reasonably priced, at $16.99, but it is by far the most expensive single item I’ve purchased for nails in the last year. I’ll get around to posting a blog especially dedicated to this marvel, but today I want to share with you two things – my mini-haul from yesterday, and a review on one of the colours.

‘Scuze the kitty in the background… he refused to move! From left to right, the polishes I got were: Chichi- Matte Top Coat, Jordana Pop Art stripers in The Artist and Artsy Purple , Jordana Raspberry, Pink Power, Boy oh Boy, and Mint Candy, and finally Kleancolor Disco Ball and Chunky Holo Teal. I love them all, and went so far as to have one on every nail to check them out last night, but I’ll do swatches a little later on.

I have on my nails right now though, this: 

This, Ladies and Gentlemen (cause I KNOW I have at least one of you guys reading this…) is  Chunky Holo Teal. And I am not so excited with it anymore. Inside the bottle it is amazing, and deep teal colour that shimmers with all the holographic glitters, going from orange to green to blue as you turn the bottle. What you’re seeing here, if four coats. Yes, four, and it isn’t even opaque. This makes me sad, that it’s not really a colour to wear on its own. The base colour however, might just have the right shade to go with anther blue polish, but phooey. I wanted it just by itself. The polish itself goes on like a dream. It’s not gluggy, it doesn’t clump at the tip of the nail, like I’ve found is the case with some glitters, but oh my word does it STINK! Definitely a polish to put on in a well ventilated room. I do like the way the holo’s change colour though, and outside I keep catching myself turning my nail to get the sun.

So that’s that. It’s pretty, but a bit disappointing.

What’s not disappointing though, is doing a mini-stocktake. For me this means I pull out all my polishes, arrange them according to colour, and then revel in the rainbow in front of me… and try to avoid Benji. 

Leave a Reply

